Feb 5, 2012

Sundaze 1206

Hello, it's been freezing here, but hey given the choice between + 40 or minus 20 i choose cold every time. Whilst the US republicans choose a full of himself raider to challenge one of the weakest presidents the US has had. How clever is that the choice between a rock and a sponge...nothing will change in the US and that's how the (zionist) elite wants it, that and nuking Iran pretty please. Latter won't (be alowed to)happen Iran can close the street of Hormuz if they manage to sink one aircraftcarrier, how beserk would that leave the US navy.

The late 1970s and early 1980s were a fantastically exciting time to be making electronic music, as technology changed almost daily and possibilities expanded exponentially. In such a chaotic and unfixed environment, it took smart people with a strong musical sense to make the most of it. These guys fit the bill.

xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx

The Begegnungen discs compile tracks from various solo, duo and trio projects from Eno, Mœbius, Roedelius, producer Conny Plank and guest musician, Guru Guru’s Mani Neumeier. Some of this music is remarkably prescient: “Pitch Control”, from Mœbius, Plank and Mani Neumeier’s 1983 Zero Set album, ghosts mid 1990s Cologne electronica, an unintentional predecessor to the playtime techno of Mouse on Mars’ Iaora Tahiti. Some of Mœbius’ solo pieces ride with tetchy, febrile energy, particularly “Nervös” (no surprise really, given the title).

They'd made brilliant records before hooking up with Eno, but Moebius and Roedelius have never shied from acknowledging the impact the association had on their approach to sound. The two compilations bearing the title Begegnungen (German for "encounter") give an idea of the different ways those initial seeds sprouted. Adding Plank to the name of the project, both Begegnungen volumes compile tracks from the sessions with Eno along with contemporaneous solo and Cluster material in a similar vein. "Johanneslust" is a gorgeous solo Roedelius track from 1978, where he combines a simple acoustic guitar pattern with synths in a manner that reinforces the bucolic "back to nature" possibility of electronics. "Nervös" and "Pitch Control", both from 1983, bring the earlier experiments into the realm of 80s electro-pop.Generally, though, the musicians are at their best in trio formations, where they can balance out each other’s indulgences. These Begegnungen sets are good enough entry points for those interested in the playful, gentle and melodic side of Krautrock. Both volumes of Begegnungen are constantly engaging and full of surprises.

xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx

Begegnungen is a Sky Records 1984 compilation album with recordings by Brian Eno, Dieter Moebius, Hans-Joachim Roedelius and Conny Plank, from solo albums, and from various collaborations between the artists. All of the tracks had been previously released elsewhere. The albums these tracks were drawn from are: Durch die Wüste, Roedelius' first solo album, Rastakraut Pasta by Moebius and Plank, After the Heat by Eno, Moebius, Rodelius, Tonspuren, the first solo album by Moebius, Zero Set by Moebius, Pank, Neumeier, Sowiesoso by Cluster, and the eponymous Cluster & Eno. These albums were released by Sky between 1976 and 1983.

Eno Moebius Roedelius Plank - Begegnungen I (flac 202mb)

01 Roedelius – Johanneslust 4:58
02 Moebius & Plank – Two Oldtimers 6:58
03 Eno, Moebius, Roedelius – The Belldog 6:14
04 Moebius – Nervös 3:26
05 Moebius, Plank, Neumeier – Pitch Control 6:21
06 Moebius & Roedelius – Dem Wanderer 3:52
07 Eno, Moebius, Roedelius – Schöne Hände 3:02

Eno Moebius Roedelius Plank - Begegnungen I (ogg 83mb)

xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx

More offerings from Eno, Moebius, Roedelius, Plank, and Neumeier, Begegnungen II is the equivalent of its predecessor. The tracks on the compilation (recorded in 1976-1983) are an appealing mix of artsy electronic ambiance and progressive Krautrock. Eno's mechanical "Broken Head" stands out as the only vocal track -- a dark, almost oppressive industrial tune not unlike early Gary Numan, but warmer. "Speed Display," originally recorded for Moebius, Plank, and Neumeier's Zero Set, is a fantastic showcase for Mani Neumeier's speed and endurance as a percussionist. He generates an incredible rhythmic groove, supplemented by sparkling synthesizer flourishes. Roedelius shines with two contributions to the set. His atmospheric "Mr. Livingstone," an Asian-influenced synth piece with complementary percussion. Along similar lines, the warm colors of "Langer Atem" may have been inspired by Eno's more melodic ambient work, perhaps Music for Films. Elsewhere on the record, Moebius and Plank's "Conditionierer" scores as upbeat, quirky synth rock. The well-crafted recordings on the Begegnungen albums are easily some of the most interesting compositions by all involved; the albums therefore serve as excellent introductions to the musicians' work.

Eno Moebius Roedelius Plank - Begegnungen II (flac 235mb)

01 Dieter Moebius & Conny Plank – Conditionierer 4:50
02 Moebius Plank Neumeier – Speed Display 5:14
03 Roedelius – Mr. Livingstone 5:41
04 Eno Moebius Roedelius – Broken Head 5:22
05 Roedelius – Langer Atem 7:14
06 Dieter Moebius – Hasenheide 2:39
07 Cluster – Es War Einmal 5:20
08 Cluster & Eno – Für Luise 5:01
Eno Moebius Roedelius Plank - Begegnungen II (98mb)

xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx


Anonymous said...

I was at a fantastic concert of Roedelius last month: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0cbiWL_yeM8

Ross Brown said...

Howdy. Any chance you can please re-up the Eno etc Begegnungen recordings? Cheers.

Rho said...

Hello Ross, sure can do-just did..N'Joy