Mar 30, 2018

RhoDeo 1812 Grooves


xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx

If you like Jazz, Funk, and that sort of thing these classics from the 60s-70s period are for you. These particular goodies came from major labels such as Atlantic, Atco, Reprise, and Warners, not exactly a bunch obscure indie labels. But many of the tracks on this CD certainly do qualify as obscure. Although there are definitely some big names on here --- Earth Wind & Fire, The Meters, Wilson Pickett, Tower of Power, King Curtis, and more --- most of their contributions are songs that weren't big hits or weren't even singles, so they feel like new discoveries. This is also a good introduction to lesser known names, such as Black Heat, a band that impressed me so much that I have since bought two albums from them. For me, it was also a real joy to hear a track by Miami's underrated Clarence Reid. The overall quality is very high on this compilation and if you enjoy soul and funk music from this era (1968-1974) you will find a LOT to like on this album.

VA - Funk Drops Vol.1 (Breaks, Nuggets & Rarities 68-77)   (flac 471mb)

01 Charles Wright - You Gotta Know Watcha Doin' 3:50
02 Tony Alvon & The Belairs - Sexy Coffee Pot 2:09
03 The Meters - Soul Machine 3:28
04 The Fabulous Counts - Dirty Red 2:17
05 The Gaturs - Cold Bear 2:50
06 Clarence Reid - Nobody But You Babe 2:46
07 Eldridge Holmes - Pop, Popcorn Children 2:50
08 Wilson Pickett - Get Me Back On Time, Engine Number 9 (Pt. 1 & 2) 6:26
09 Houseguests - What So Never The Dance (Pt. 1 & 2) 3:58
10 Earth, Wind & Fire - C'Mon Children 3:09
11 Tower Of Power - Back On The Streets Again 5:50
12 United 8 - Getting Uptown (To Get Down) 2:42
13 Black Heat - Love The Life You Live 6:33
14 Donny Hathaway - Come Little Children 4:33
15 The Watts 103rd St Rhythm Band - 65 Bars And A Taste Of Soul 2:36
16 Mark Putney - Don't Come Around Here Anymore 2:42
17 Cold Grits - It's Your Thing 2:36
18 King Curtis - Ridin' Thumb 3:16
19 The Meters - Same Old Thing 2:47
20 Cold Blood - Shop Talk (Version #1) 5:00

.VA - Funk Drops Vol.1 (Breaks, Nuggets & Rarities 68-77)  (ogg  175mb)

xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx

Another great, great entry in the "Funk Drops" series. If you haven't heard these compilations of 60s & 70s soul jams, do it ASAP. They are all tremendous. For some reason it seems to be left to Europeans (and Brits in particular) to collect together "lost" soul and funk nuggets from the USA, and provide a coherent set of sleeve notes to place the said items within a context. This excellent collection as well as containing some of Warners biggest hits ("Clean Up Woman"/Betty Wright, "Rock Steady"/Aretha Franklin,"Right Place,Wrong Time"/Dr John) contains some neglected gems that ought to be heard.In particular "Stanga" by Little Sister is a belter, little sister being Rose Stewart part of Sly's extended band/family. There are two Family Stone covers, a magnificent version of "Everyday People" by Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band,and a version of "Sing a simple song" by The Noble Knights-led by King Curtis, but with all the Atlantic House band luminaries in attendance as well. Then there's a remake of a Watts Band backing track dubbed by Society's bag, 1 minute 25 seconds of a track called "Stroke 75" by Tower of Power and a stunning track called "Kissing my Love" by Cold Blood. There's no room to mention the Bobby Byrd track, or the one by Allan Toussaint, but I ought to give a big shout for "Somebody in the World for you" by The Mighty Hannibal which somehow managed not to get much airplay first time around. Sure, a lot of this stuff is obscure, but it's GOOD obscure, not just padding to the hits contained herein, and it rattles along in a joyful urgent way. Looking for something from left field that makes you feel good? Get those flares out! Take these Funk Drops and there won't be any need to call the doctor in the morning!

VA - Funk Drops Vol.2 (Breaks, Nuggets & Rarities 68-77)    (flac 472mb)

01 Bobby Byrd - Try It Again 3:34
02 The Noble Knights - Sing A Simple Song 2:51
03 The Mighty Hannibal - Somebody In The World For You 2:51
04 The Watts 103rd St Rhythm Band - Everyday People (In The Jungle) 2:28
05 The Meters - Chicken Strut 3:09
06 Aretha Franklin - Rock Steady 3:11
07 The Fabulous Counts - Lunar Funk 2:11
08 The Mohawks - The Champ 2:37
09 The Beginning Of The End - Funky Nassau (Pt. 2) 2:29
10 The T.S.U. Toronadoes - Getting The Corners 2:23
11 The Southshore Commission - Right On Brother (Pt. 1) 2:35
12 King Curtis - Memphis Soul Stew (Live) 7:37
13 Baby Huey - Hard Times 3:14
14 Curtis Mayfield - If There's A Hell Down Below, We're All Going To Go 4:19
15 Little Sister - Stanga 3:36
16 Betty Wright - Clean Up Woman 2:44
17 Society's Bag - Let It Crawl 2:35
18 Allen Toussaint - Goin' Down 2:54
19 Dr. John - Right Place, Wrong Time 2:51
20 The Meters - Chuc Chug Chug-A-Lug (Push And Shove) (Pt. 2) 3:24
21 Cold Blood - Kissing My Love 6:02
22 Tower Of Power - Stroke '75 1:25
23 T.J. Kirk - Soul Power (Pt. 1 & 2) 4:24

VA - Funk Drops Vol.2 (Breaks, Nuggets & Rarities 68-77)  (ogg  179mb )

xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx

This is the third (and final?) entry in the surprisingly wonderful "Funk Drops" series of soul-funk rarities. I saw "surprisingly" because these came from the vaults of major labels like Warners and Atlantic, and you wouldn't think a major label would issue compilations as thorougly satisfying as these albums are. Then again, it also reveals the cut-throat nature of the music business that so many truly fine songs never were hits, or they languished in the vaults for many years/decades. But listen and love; these funk drops are mighty, mighty tasty indeed. Some surprisingly heavy early tracks from both the Commodores and Earth Wind & Fire, before both bands jumped labels and enjoyed pop success; two James Brown band members --- Bobby Byrd and Fred Wesley --- contribute a pair of very funky tracks; you also get the always thrilling Charles Wright & the Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band; the legendary Curtis Mayfield; the always tight The Meters; underrated groups like Black Heat and New Birth; and oodles of obscure but very enjoyable artists, including amazing tracks from the Stovall Sisters and Rasputin's Stash. Very good package and most excellent music.

 VA - Funk Drops Vol.3 (Breaks, Nuggets & Rarities 1968-1977)    (flac  424mb)

01 The Commodores - Keep On Dancing 2:37
02 Barry Jones - Do The Funky Boogaloo (Pt. 1) 2:15
03 Freddie & The Kinfolk - Mashed Potato, Pop Corn 2:42
04 The Mighty Hannibal - Get In The Groove 2:22
05 Johnny Cameron & The Camerons - Funky John 2:44
06 Rufus Thomas - The Memphis Train 2:29
07 Joyce Jones - Help Me Make Up My Mind 2:41
08 The Meters - Here Comes The Meter Man 2:50
09 The Commodores - Rise Up 2:45
10 Bobby Byrd - I'm On The Move 2:55
11 Black Haze Express - Won't Nobody Listen 4:13
12 Earth, Wind And Fire - Fan The Fire 3:06
13 Fabulous Counts - Get Down People 2:31
14 The Stovall Sisters - Hang On In There 3:32
15 The Beginning Of The End - Monkey Tamarind 3:33
16 Mark Holder & The Positives - Whatever's Fair 2:38
17 Rasputin's Stash - Your Love Is Certified 1:58
18 Charles Wright & The Watts 103rd St Band - What Can You Bring Me 2:44
19 Curtis Mayfield - Get Down (Single Version) 3:50
20 The Meters - Just Kissed My Baby 4:34
21 Black Heat - No Time To Burn 3:34
22 6ix - I'm Just Like You 3:23
23 Darrow Fletcher - Improve 2:43
24 New Birth - Hurry Hurry 3:36
25 Fred Wesley & The Horny Horns - Four Play (Promo Edit) 3:30

VA - Funk Drops Vol.3 (Breaks, Nuggets & Rarities 1968-1977)  (ogg  168mb)

xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

excellent comps --thank you!