Jun 12, 2013

RhoDeo 1323 Aetix

Hello, no shocking news this week,  that is if your not Greek as their state tv broadcasters went on black after the government pulled their plug. Well over the border in Turkey state tv has shown nada on all the protests going on. The old saying power corrupts has clearly gotten hold of their prime minister Erdohan, the country is clearly divided between the city dwellers and countrymen and their breeding wives, not to mention islamists who see a chance to put some extra oil on the fire.

Bit late today some virus troubles, meanwhile Aetix continues with females in the lead, two punky pop queens doing battle here   ...N'Joy

xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx

The daughter of '50s British pop singer Marty Wilde, Kim Wilde had several pop hits during the '80s. Initially, her synth-driven pop fit in with the new wave movement, but as the decade progressed, it became clear that her strength was mainstream pop.
 In 1980, Kim Wilde signed with producer Mickie Most's Rak Records, releasing her first single, "Kids in America," early in 1981. "Kids in America" climbed to number two on the British charts that spring, while her second single, "Chequered Love," made it into the Top Ten; her self-titled debut album performed as well as her singles. The following year, "Kids in America" became a Top 40 hit in America, while Select kept her in the British charts. However, Wilde wasn't able to keep her momentum going and it wasn't until late 1986 that she had another hit with a dance cover of the Supremes' "You Keep Me Hangin' On," which charted in the Top Ten on both sides of the Atlantic. Wilde never had another hit in America, yet she was back in the charts in the summer of 1987 with "Another Step (Closer to You)," a duet with Junior Giscombe. After the single's success, she began changing her image, becoming sexier. The approach didn't entirely pay off, though she had a handful of hit singles from her 1988 album, Close, including "You Came," "Never Trust a Stranger," and "Four Letter Word." Wilde continued to record in the '90s, scoring the occasional hit, either in the dance or adult contemporary field.

Kim Wilde's fifth album was her eventual American breakthrough, finally giving the British singer a Top Ten hit with a Hi-NRG cover of the Supremes' "You Keep Me Hangin' On." Competent but not groundbreaking, it was a perfectly fine, albeit not particularly memorable, single, which pretty much sums up the rest of Another Step as well. All of Wilde's previous records were produced by her brother Ricky Wilde, but although he's in charge of not quite half of this album, the rest is essayed by the Michael Jackson-related hitmaking team of Bruce Swedien and Rod Temperton, synth pop expert Richard James Burgess, and, on two tracks, Wilde herself. Naturally, the tag-team approach gives Another Step a frustratingly all-over-the-place feel, but Wilde's voice, considerably improved from chirpy early records like "Kids in America," mostly holds the album together. .

Kim Wilde - Another Step  (flac 500mb)

01 You Keep Me Hangin' On 4:15
02 Hit Him 3:32
03 Another Step (Closer To You) 3:25
04 The Thrill Of It 3:55
05 I've Got So Much Love 3:57
06 Victim 4:01
07 Schoolgirl 3:40
08 Say You Really Want Me 3:59
09 She Hasn't Got Time For You 4:02
10 Brothers 4:48
11 Missing 4:28
12 How Do You Want My Love 3:57
13 Don't Say Nothing's Changed 3:55
Bonus Tracks
14 Songs About Love 4:56
15 Loving You 4:57
16 Hold Back 3:58
17 Another Step (Closer To You) (7" Version) 3:31
18 Say You Really Want Me (UK 7" Version) 4:04

Kim Wilde - Another Step  (ogg 169mb)

xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx

Despite almost universal critical hatred, Transvision Vamp briefly rose to the top of the U.K. charts in the late '80s, thanks largely to the media image of lead singer Wendy James, who fashioned herself as a sexually provocative, rebellious, fashion-conscious punk -- sort of a mixture of Madonna, Blondie's Deborah Harry, T. Rex, and the Clash. The musical backing by guitarist/songwriter Nick Christian Sayer, keyboardist Tex Axile, bassist Dave Parsons, and drummer Pol Burton tended to reflect the latter three bands as well. The singles "Tell That Girl to Shut Up" (originally by Holly and the Italians) and the Top Five "I Want Your Love" helped their debut album, Pop Art, reach the British Top Five, while the follow-up, Velveteen, hit the top, buoyed by the Top Three hit "Baby I Don't Care." The group's run halted when MCA initially refused to release Little Magnets Vs. the Bubble of Babble in the U.K.; it eventually appeared in 1991 undeservedly to little attention.

Punk-chewed bubblegum rock, fronted by sex kitten Wendy James, proved a winning formula on Transvision Vamp's debut release, Pop Art. Despite proclaiming "The rules are...there are no rules" in the liner notes, the set follows the time-honored rock/punk formula of guitars, attitude, and a healthy shot of sex appeal: Nick Christian Sayer's guitar work providing the perfect complement to James' anthemic lyrics. At their best with exuberant outings such as "I Want Your Love" and "Revolution Baby," a nice melodic lull to the rollicking fun is provided by the well-honed ballad "Sister Moon." The second half of the album, however, begins to wear a little thin, avoiding the beautiful simplicity of earlier songs with some experimental punk rock ("Sex Kick") and ballads neither catchy nor deep ("Andy Warhol's Dead" and "Hanging Out With Halo Jones"). The light-hearted sounds and catchy hooks were further developed in their follow-up, Velveteen.

Transvision Vamp - Pop Art  (flac 298mb)

01 Trash City 5:09
02 I Want Your Love 3:29
03 Sister Moon 4:23
04 Psychosonic Cindy 3:46
05 Revolution Baby 4:53
06 Tell That Girl To Shut Up 3:06
07 Wild Star 3:23
08 Hanging Out With Halo Jones 4:37
09 Andy Warhol's Dead 3:50
10 Sex Kick 5:44

Transvision Vamp - Pop Art  (ogg 97mb)

xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx

For a period in the late '80s, Transvision Vamp seemed to be everywhere in the U.K. Mainly, it was lead singer Wendy James and her sex kitten image on the magazine covers. Velveteen was the band's second release of their Blondie-like bubblegum rock. It will never go down as a great album, but Velveteen has its own definite charms. James' vocals are hardly impressive, but they are endearing in a childlike manner. It's a style that fits the simple fun of the lyrics on the stomping "Baby I Don't Care" and the new wave rocker "I Want Your Love." It's hard not to want to scream along with the choruses. "The Only One" is hyperkinetic with a slight disco touch. The lack of ideas catches up to them as the second half starts to sound familiar, but they close things strongly with the epic-length title track. Strings lend a bit of drama to a song that shifts from pummeling, tribal rock to dreamy pop to garage band rock to quasi-lounge music with JamesLead singer Wendy James doesn't have a great range, but she does have a lot of personality and a healthy sense of fun that serves her well, and she's giving one of her better vocal performances here.

Transvision Vamp - Velveteen (flac 332mb)

01 Baby, I Don't Care 4:38
02 The Only One 4:19
03 Landslide Of Love 3:47
04 Falling For A Goldmine 4:29
05 Down On You 4:21
06 Song To The Stars 1:48
07 Kiss Their Sons 4:17
08 Born To Be Sold 3:42
09 Pay The Ghosts 4:39
10 Bad Valentine 3:43
11 Velveteen 9:49

Transvision Vamp - Velveteen ( ogg 115mb)

xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx

1 comment:

Music Lover said...

It's great you write about Transvision Vamp & upload their music.
i'ts the first time I see this stuff on any Blog.
I think they are great fun, especially for driving :-)