Aug 9, 2015

RhoDeo 1532 Sundaze


Today a Japanese musician, activist, composer, record producer, writer, singer, pianist, and actor based in Tokyo and New York. Gaining major success in 1978 as a member of the electronic music group Yellow Magic Orchestra, Sakamoto served on keyboards and sometimes vocals. He concurrently pursued a solo career, if ever anyone painted pictures with sound, Ryuichi Sakamoto supercedes them all. Hardly surprising then he's delivered some great soundtracks, here today a second batch of soundtracks to   .... N'joy

xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx

Ryuichi Sakamoto (born January 17, 1952 in Tokyo, Japan) studied at the Tokyo National University of Fine Arts and Music, where he graduated with a BA in composition, and a Master's degree with special emphasis electronic and ethnic music. Sakamoto began his career in the late 1970s, working as a composer, arranger and producer with some of Japan's most popular rock, jazz and classical artists. He released his first solo album in 1978 but came to fame as a member of Japanese synth-rock outfit Yellow Magic Orchestra with co-founders Haruomi Hosono and Yukihiro Takahashi. He collaborated with David Sylvian on a number of singles and most of Sylvian's albums.

 He appeared in the 1983 Nagisa Oshima film Merry Christmas, Mr Lawrence alongside British rock singer David Bowie; he also wrote the film's musical score. He won the Academy Award for his score to the 1987 Bernardo Bertolucci film The Last Emperor, and has also won two Golden Globe Awards for his work as a film composer.In addition, he also composed music for the 1992 Barcelona Olympics opening ceremony. In the early 1990s, he briefly reunited with YMO, playing an instrumental role in the techno and acid house movements of the era, before parting ways again shortly afterwards.

 His 1999 musical composition "Energy Flow", also known as the alternative title of the single disc Ura BTTB, was the first number-one instrumental single in Japan's Oricon charts history. He has also occasionally worked on anime and video games, as a composer as well as a scenario writer. In the late 2000s, he reunited once again with YMO, while continuing to compose film music.

Since 78 he has released almost 90 albums (solo & soundtrack) , on top of that 2 dozen collaboration albums and YMO 33 years 110+ albums , every 16 weeks an album for 33 years, amazing workethic, puts lots of artists to shame. The 2007 jpg shows a 55 year old man that has greyed considerably, but he looks sharp and balanced into the lens back at you.

 He is also known as a critic of copyright law, arguing that it is antiquated in the information age. He is a member of anti-nuclear organization Stop Rokkasho. Married life obviously suffered and he has been unattached for most of his career, still he has two daughters one of which has stepped into her parents career (mother=Akiko Yano), the J-pop singer Miu Sakamoto.

xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx

Sakamoto's unnerving soundtrack for John Marbury's portrait of British artist Francis Bacon was at least as important as the film's oft-noted cinematographic dexterity was in capturing the complex psychological landscape of the famous painter. With a palette consisting of little more than chirps, clicks, muted cries and the odd bit of disembodied piano, Sakamoto's score helped give shape to the raw chaos surrounding both Bacon's life and the figures depicted in his paintings. Hardly essential, but no less worthwhile for it.

Ryuichi Sakamoto - Love Is The Devil (flac 160mb)

01 Lock 2:21
02 Fall 1:23
03 Walk 1:07
04 Sex 0:20
05 Museum 0:51
06 Bathroom 4:56
07 Boxing 1:03
08 Museum 2 0:45
09 Atelier 1:08
10 Bed-Museum 1:08
11 Nightmares 1:14
12 Switch 2:19
13 Sex 1:08
14 Redman 1 0:36
15 George In Rain 1:21
16 Redman 2 0:29
17 Toilet 1:54
18 Redman 3 1:15
19 Owl 2:19
20 Couch, Set Up, Canvas 1:22
21 Bed 0:22
22 Ny 1:10
23 Water Drop 1:06
24 Paint It Blue 1:25
25 Car Crash 1:18
26 Suicide 2:10
27 Monologue 2:22
28 Love Is The Devil 5:29

xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx

For "Taboo", Sakamoto uses every electronic sound from elaborate to technical for dramatic and mood swings for his cues...lightness in tone, softer, with mid-range support of counterpoints, rising and falling synthesized tones. The opening theme "Gohatto" is almost mesmerizing...completely spell-binding with shades of outside control, very effective for Oshima's screenplay...the last two tracks "Gohatto  End Theme)" and "Gohatto (Piano Version)" are simply superb. Hats off to our friends at Milan for releasing this original score, as for "film-score-buffs", this is a keeper...

Ryuichi Sakamoto - Gohatto (Taboo) (flac 266mb)

01 Opening Theme 2:01
02 Souzaburoh 2:04
03 Taboos 2:09
04 In Bed 2:08
05 Execution 2:48
06 Match 3:56
07 Gate 2:09
08 Temple 0:49
09 Suggestion 2:07
10 Affair 2:48
11 Murder 6:17
12 Supper 7:14
13 Funeral 2:13
14 Persuasion 3:46
15 Prostitute 2:44
16 Assassination 1:22
17 Duty 1:38
18 Ugetsu 3:54
19 Killing 3:06
20 End Theme 5:00
21 Gohatto (Piano Version) 4:32

Ryuichi Sakamoto - Gohatto (Taboo)  (ogg 130mb)

xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx

This is a sensual score which the talented composer has written so exclusively for the film. Mr.Sakamoto has written a variation to Bolero on this soundtrack -titled Bolerish.He has turned the most boring tune on earth into a seductive & melodic piece. The most basic, yet the most stylish tune is LOST THEME- Piano Version. Somehow I wish there were more variation to this piece in the film. You don't have to watch the movie first to like this album. However, you would definitely want to own a copy of this rare CD if you happen to have enjoyed watching this extremely well composed film by Brian de Palma.

Ryuichi Sakamoto - Femme Fatale  (flac 315mb)

01 Bolerish 13:41
02 Stop Or I'll Shoot 1:05
03 Rage 3:59
04 Double 3:22
05 Tragedy 6:33
06 Déjà Vu 3:37
07 Searching For Gun 0:47
08 In Café 4:03
09 Blouse Off Shoulder 3:04
10 Out Of Water 4:33
11 Future 2:48
12 Déjà Vu II 5:31
13 Bolerish (Piano Version) 4:42

14 Elli Medeiros - Altar 5:14
15 Saez - Sexe 3:52

Ryuichi Sakamoto - Femme Fatale   (ogg 140mb)

xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx

Sakamoto's a genius, and an extraordinarily sensitive musician and composer. He also impresses me with the remarkable range of his work. There could hardly be much more distance between his terrific collaborations with Alva Noto in the sort of quasi-glitch area and this soundtrack to Silk, which is lush and dramatic. And then there's all kinds of wonderful work in other genres and styles. Silk is beautifully photographed; but equally important is because of its composer's (Ryuichi Sakamoto) vision and emotion he dedicated to composing its beautiful music in order to bring this film alive - what a lovely experience.

Ryuichi Sakamoto - Silk  (flac 279mb)

01 Silk Opening 2:50
02 Mill Theme 1:37
03 Love Theme 1:18
04 Trip To Egypt 1:11
05 First Trip To Japan 4:00
06 Snowy Village 5:42
07 First Return 1:29
08 Second Trip To Japan 2:35
09 The Girl 3:51
10 Second Return 2:27
11 Love Theme II 2:26
12 Sadness 1:42
13 Brothel 2:15
14 The Last Trip To Japan 2:51
15 Revolution 4:49
16 The Last Return 4:03
17 Building The Garden 1:51
18 Reminiscence 2:46
19 Helen 2:53
20 Sadness II 3:20
21 Silk Endroll 5:23

Ryuichi Sakamoto - Silk   (ogg 126mb)

xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx xxxxx 

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

hi, could you reup gohatto in ogg? thank you