Nov 25, 2007

Sundaze, (07)

Hello, ready to chill out some from the week (end) ? To bath in todays Sundazes ? A Danish dessert and a New Mexican desert are on the menu, take a bite, the desert come's in two flavors, one light and one attuned to more demanding tastes.

***** ***** ***** ***** *****

Skyphone - Fabula (04 243mb)

Caught between the spacious glacial excursions of the northern Scandinavians (Sigur Rós and Biosphere) and the infinite digital strands of microtechnological exploration occurring in Germany to the south, we find Skyphone an electronic trio consisting of Keld Dam Schmidt, Thomas Holst and Mads Bødker. Having played in various rock outfits during the nineties, and having been friends for decades, the three of them began experimenting with the obligatory samplers, tape decks and some of the Roland GM modules of the time. Getting to know the new tools, time-consuming as it is, let their musical past slowly dissapate, even so the trio's collective background in rock, dub and electronica had been an invaluable apprenticeship, and in 1999 Skyphone was founded in the leftover room at a depot in Copenhagen. The concrete walls and floors, were quickly, covered with various carpets, this shabby style inspired. hours and hours of recorded sound using an old Mac, a sampler, a moog and some Roland toys.

When they moved to new, sort of luxurious premises in 2002, the band feared for their unique sound, but the romantic myth of the creative power of the shabby bohemian loft was found to be just that...a myth. Replacing the old Mac with shiny new PowerBooks and lots of software, Skyphone continued to scratch and carefully damage the shiny surface of the digital sounds, creating tiny and melodious pop-songs-without-singing, leaving it to the listener to infer what the songs actually could have been. Fabula offers up diffident melodies risen from acoustic guitars and analogue synths, and crisply fluctuating digital percussion, resulting in an almost fairytale sense of immersion.

Skyphone was nominated in the category "best band" at the Danish "Steppeulv" awards (music journalist awards) in 2004.

01 - Monitor Batik (4:13)
02 - In Our Time (3:29)
03 - Kinamands Chance (3:56)
04 - Cent Gauge (1:53)
05 - Airtight Golem (5:39)
06 - Mengpaneel (5:14)
07 - Sinne Gas (4:16)
08 - Pandamusic (4:34)
09 - Gossamer (4:44)
10 - Oleana (4:47)
11 - Into Hill Country (1:35)
12 - Brine (6:14)

***** ***** ***** ***** *****

Steve Roach - Artifacts (91 ^ 303mb)

Roach a onetime professional motorbike racer born in California in 1955, -- inspired by the music of Tangerine Dream, Klaus Schulze, and Vangelis -- taught himself to play synthesizer at the age of 20, 7 years later he debuted with the album Now, his early work was quite reminiscent of his inspirations, but with 1984's Structures from Silence his music began taking enormous strides, the album's expansive and mysterious atmosphere inspired directly by the the beauty and power of the earth's landscapes to create lush, meditative soundscapes influential on the emergence of ambient and trance. Subsequent works including 1986's three-volume Quiet Music series honed Roach's approach, his dense, swirling textures and hypnotic rhythms akin to environmental sound sculptures. In 1988, inspired by the Peter Weir film The Last Wave, Roach journeyed to the Australian outback, with field recordings of aboriginal life inspiring his acknowledged masterpiece, the double-album Dreamtime Return.

After relocating to the desert outskirts of Tuscon, Arizona, Roach established his own recording studio, Timeroom, and in the years to follow grew increasingly prolific, creating both as a solo artist and in tandem with acts including Robert Rich, Michael Stearns, Jorge Reyes and Kevin Braheny -- in all, close to two dozen major works in the 1990s alone, all of them located at different points on the space-time continuum separating modern technology and primitive music. His album roster from that decade includes: Strata (1991), Artifacts (1994), Well of Souls (1995), Amplexus (1997), and Dust to Dust (1998). Early Man was released on Projekt in early 2001, followed by one of his many collaborations with Vidna Obmana. His ability to create organic time-altering soundscapes reached a high point on the 2003 four-CD opus Mystic Chords & Sacred Spaces, and has continued since 2006 in his prodigious Immersion series. Recent releases Possible Planet and New Life Dreaming show a return to a more open, breathing sound.

01 - Groundswell (8:15)
02 - Thunder Brother (9:29)
03 - The Origin of Artifacts (25:46)
04 - Your Own Eyes (8:02)
05 - Ancestral Horizon (8:27)
06 - Temple of the Frog (8:50)
07 - Begin Where I End (8:01)

diet version
Steve Roach - Artifact (94 * 99mb)

***** ***** ***** ***** *****
All downloads are in * ogg-7 (224k) or ^ ogg-9(320k), artwork is included , if in need get the nifty ogg encoder/decoder here !


The Gosub Routine said...


I do like a bit of Roach.

Skyphone sounds interesting with their shabby carpet influences on their musical direction.

Thanks again,


Anonymous said...

This is a great blog full of information and links. Congrats. Any way you can update the expired links in this post? They expired more than 10 years ago... Thank you.